LEGACYOFLIES.COM - FORUMS
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

.car spreadsheet calculator

3 posters

Go down

.car spreadsheet calculator Empty .car spreadsheet calculator

Post  Tomte Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:03 am

Hello guys,

Don wrote a lot of nonsense about 'Tomte physics' and such... Of course, I didn't create any physics, I just merely made up a spreadsheet which allows to calculate some of the .car data from given specifications and 3D model data. The spreadsheet follows my personal logic, therefore it might not be very clear to understand. I'm an engineer, I'm into formulae, not into GUI...
The spreadsheet evolved slowly, from time to time got updated to include more calculations, based on discussions with members of the community (thanks to all involved, especially to c14ru5, Brook, Giles, Don, Val, theSnail).

This work is in no way meant to replace Brook's excellent dotcar editor, they can be used hand in hand. Of course, it would be most practical to include my calculations into Brook's editor, but I don't know if Brook is still around...

The latest version got a tiny graphical overhaul. All the calculations are now on the first sheet, the second sheet contains specific sections of a typical .car file using values from the calculations of the first sheet.

In order to use the spreadsheet, you either need a google account, Excel or OpenOffice. When you click on the link below, you will access the original spreadsheet, which is locked. In the (google) menu, you click File/Make a copy (if you have a Google account) or File/Download as... (if you use Excel or OpenOffice).

If you want to get some meaningful results, you will need to enter data into ALL the grey and blue fields ON THE LEFT of the first spreadsheet. The data on the right (aero/inertia/wheel size/positioning/friction...) will be calculated from the fields on the left.